News article

2015 Kinney Award

Posted:  Wednesday, August 12, 2015

The Nestlé Nutrition Institute in conjunction with the Nutritional Sciences, Education & Research Fund (NSERF) and Nutrition: The International Journal of Applied and Basic Nutritional Sciences are proud to announce this year’s winners of the 16th John M. Kinney Awards

Dr. John M. Kinney was a surgeon who began his interest in nutrition and metabolism during the early years of World War II. Today, we remember and honor Dr. Kinney's tireless work seeking better solutions for patient health, comfort and survival. 

The International Awards in Nutrition will continue to be offered in his name in order to, in Dr. Kinney's words, "identify and support another generation of distinguished young investigators who will advance nutritional science and improve patient care." 

Selection of the awards is done by 3 respective international judging committees, composed of a panel of experts in the area of: General Nutrition, Pediatric Nutrition and Nutrition & Metabolism

This year, the award ceremony provided an opportunity to recognize those researchers who have made a significant impact and contribution in the fields of applied, basic, and pediatric nutrition as published in --Nutrition: The International Journal of Applied and Basic Nutritional Sciences.

The Journal reaches multidisciplinary health experts around the world and the societies associated with this journal include: Australasian Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, Czech Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, Japan Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, and Turkish Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition.

The Award for Pediatric Nutrition
Plasma micronutrient levels and telomere length in children 

Elizabeth Milne M.P.H., Ph.D.a,*, Nathan O’Callaghan Ph.D.b, Padmaja Ramankutty Ph.D.a,
Nicholas H. de Klerk Ph.D.a, Kathryn R. Greenop Ph.D.a, Bruce K. Armstrong M.B.B.S., D.Phil.c,d,

Margaret Miller MApp.Sci., Grad.Dip.Diet.e, Michael Fenech Ph.D.b 

a Telethon Kids Institute, University of Western Australia, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
b Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO) Food, Nutrition and Bioproducts Flagship, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

c Sydney School of Public Health, University of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
d Sax Institute, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
 e Child Health Promotion Research Centre, Edith Cowan University, Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Nutrition 31 (2015) 331–336
 Pediatric Committee Co-Chairs: Peter Soeters, MD, PhD (NL), and Michael M. Meguid, MD, PhD, MFA (USA).
Committee: Ram Reifen, MD, MS (IS), Analia Lorena Tomat, PhD (AR), Hassan Ibrahim El-Sayyad, PhD (ET), Susannah King, MPH, PhD (AU), Herculina Salome Kruger, PhD (ZA)

The Award for Nutrition and Metabolism
 Sex-related effects of nutritional supplementation of Escherichia coli:
Relevance to eating disorders

Naouel Tennoune Ph.D.a,b, Romain Legrand M.Sc.a,b, Wassila Ouelaa Ph.D.a,b, Jonathan Breton M.Sc.a,b,

Nicolas Lucas M.Sc.a,b, Christine Bole-Feysot B.Sc.a,b, Jean-Claude do Rego Ph.D.b,c,
Pierre Dechelotte M.D., Ph.D.a,b,d, Sergueï O. Fetissov M.D., Ph.D.a,b,*

 a Inserm UMR1073, Nutrition, Gut and Brain Laboratory, Rouen, France
b Institute for Research and Innovation in Biomedicine (IRIB), Rouen University, Normandy University, Rouen, France
c Animal behavior platform (SCAC), Rouen, Franced Rouen University Hospital, CHU Charles Nicolle, Rouen, France 

Nutrition 31 (2015) 498–507
 Nutrition and Metabolism Committee Co-Chairs: Lubos Sobotka, MD, PhD (CZ), and Michael M. Meguid, MD, PhD (USA).
Committee: Jacqueline Alvarez-Leite, MD, PhD (BR), Roland N. Dickerson, PharmD, BCNSP, FCCP, FASHP, FCCM, FASPEN (USA), Gil Hardy, PhD, FRSC (NZ), Stephane Schneider MD, PhD (FR), Salvatore Chirumbolo, PhD (IT)

The Award for General Nutrition
 The protein type within a hypocaloric diet affects obesity-related inflammation:
The RESMENA project

Patricia Lopez-Legarrea Ph.D.a, Rocio de la Iglesia B.Sc.a, Itziar Abete Ph.D.b,c,
Santiago Navas-Carretero Ph.D.a,c, J. Alfredo Martinez M.D., Ph.D.a,c,*, M. Angeles Zulet Ph.D.a,c

  a Department of Nutrition, Food Science and Physiology, University of Navarra, Pamplona, Spain
b Biodonostia Health Research Institute, San Sebastian, Spain
c CIBERobn, Carlos III Health Institute, Madrid, Spain 
Nutrition 30 (2014) 424–429 

General Nutrition Committee Co-Chairs:
Maria Isabel T. D. Correia, MD, PhD (BR), and Michael M. Meguid, MD, PhD, MFA (USA).
Committee: Chih-Yen Chen, MD, PhD (TW), Krishnan Sriram, MD, FRCS, FACS (USA), Haruki Koike MD, PhD (JP), Marietjie Herselman, PhD (AZ), Arved Weimann, MD, PhD (GR)